Fresh Sewing Day

So where did January go???? A month into the new year already!

I have had a busy sewing month. I have joined two new bee groups in the last month. I have joined the other half of the FQR Bee (The Honeys) as one of their members dropped out through illness and also the Modern Stash Quilting Bee, which runs for six months. I had two sets of Quilt Around the World blocks come past as well, so here’s a few of those:-

SAMSUNG DIGITAL CAMERA SAMSUNG DIGITAL CAMERA SAMSUNG DIGITAL CAMERA SAMSUNG DIGITAL CAMERA

I have also been working on a small quilt for Siblings Together. A Flickr member offered some fabric up which I really love, 1001 Peeps by Lizzy House, with some extras thrown in. It will only be little as the fabric isn’t enough to make a bigger quilt even with the extra bits from my stash that go with it, but I’m sure there’s a little girl out there that loves purple and won’t mind it being little. I had a yard of flannel that I bought ages ago that is perfect for the backing too, so hopefully this won’t take me too much longer. Here it is so far:-

SAMSUNG DIGITAL CAMERA

And finally, I have actually finished my godson’s quilt which I started in November! It is made completely out of Velocity by Jessica Hogarth as he loves bikes. I added some Riley Blake chevrons, a bit of sketch and some solids, so I hope he likes it. Ever since his brother asked me to make him a quilt, Noah always asks me if I have made his yet. I can’t believe he was seven yesterday. This was copied inspired by the lovely Moira whose bee blocks we made like this for her son in September 2012. Anyway, here it is:-

SAMSUNG DIGITAL CAMERA

SAMSUNG DIGITAL CAMERA

I also made a cushion as part of the Designers Challenge for FQ Magazine from Parson Gray’s Seven Wonders fabric line which was sent to me. I had to do this really quickly and I didn’t want to waste any of the fabric so I know most of you will recognise the blocks 😉

SAMSUNG DIGITAL CAMERA

SAMSUNG DIGITAL CAMERA

And creatively speaking, the only other thing I have made was Dan’s birthday cake. Here he is with my mum enjoying the ‘fire, fire’!

Image 5

Hope you are all having a lovely Friday,
Jo x

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Fresh Sewing Day

  1. Darcie says:

    Goodness you have been busy! I love how even the birthday cake even looks “quilty-ish”, so cute!

  2. I adore your velocity quilt! The fabric choices are really amazing. I know I’ve looked over that fabric a dozen times, but the solids and other fabrics you’ve chosen to add really add pizazz! I will definitely be pinning it, if that’s ok with you 🙂
    congrats on great projects.

    • Ah, thank you! It came out much better than I expected. It was a labour of love getting the quilting done and had to unpick it twice (soooo boring)! Pin away! (Don’t think I have any restrictions, but these are on Flickr too which should be fine!)

  3. Mary Emmens says:

    Looks like a great month with some fabulous makes you clever lady. Any cake left?

  4. Kirsten A says:

    Wow! January looks good! I love your color combinations in your work!

  5. moira says:

    you are an inspiration to me, jo. i heart everything (especially wee dan 😉 )

  6. Fabulous work Jo, I especially love the Siblings Together quilt, it is beautiful! : ). And well done on the FQ entry, I was admiring it yesterday after I downloaded this quarters issue, it’s very striking.

  7. snophiejo says:

    Gorgeous work! I love the quilt you have made for your Godson. I have just started cutting one for my son and am looking forward to sewing it together and watching it grow! I popped over from the small blog meet at Lily’s quilts and have just started following your blog. Amazing and inspiring! Have fun.

  8. Beth says:

    Wow, everything is so pretty! Love your work.

  9. My word, these projects are gorgeous! I especially love that first block!

  10. Sue Bone says:

    You have been a busy bee. 🙂

  11. Annabella says:

    You have had an amazingly productive month – the star blocks are incredible and I just love the Seven Wonders’ cushion. Stunning! Popping over from Fresh Sewing Day.

  12. Carol says:

    Congratulations on the Fat Quarterly cushion and all the other fabulousness!( and Dan is very cute!)

  13. Barb@Witsend says:

    Wow, all your projects are beautiful! Love the colour combinations.

  14. Joanne says:

    I loved the cushion in Fat Quarterly, it’s really lovely!!
    That quilt for Siblings Together will be perfect!! I know lots of girls who love purple, I bet it will be a massive hit!!

Leave a Reply

