Fresh Sewing Day Linky – March 2013

Evening All

I thought I hadn’t done that much sewing in March, but actually I did…

Image

Lots of bee blocks (including two remakes as some went missing in the post in Australia), a birthday cushion for my friend,Andrea, (her quilt is still a work in progress), a baby quilt for little Freya and I pieced together our Kinky Bee quilt top for Siblings Together.

Lots of my lovely fellow Kinky Bee friends also helped me make this lovely quilt top in December 2012 for my aunt and my cousins in Ireland.

Image

My uncle was diagnosed with pancreatic cancer in late October and the doctors had given him six months to live. He died yesterday morning. At only 46, he leaves a wife, five children and a one year old grandson behind.

My parents left to go to Ireland this morning, and the quilt still isn’t finished and I feel bad about that. I would have liked them to be able to take it, but there’s nothing I can do about that now. My next job is to start quilting it this week. Hopefully it will provide some small comfort now he has gone.

Linking up to the lovely Lily’s Quilts…

Lily's Quilts
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Fresh Sewing Day Linky – March 2013

  1. Beautiful sewing. Thoughts are with your family – I’m sure the quilt will help them through such an awful time

    • Thanks Jennie, that’s really kind of you šŸ™‚

      I would have finished it, but it’s the biggest quilt I have ever made and I still find quilting really tricky. This week though….

  2. Nita says:

    I am sorry for your loss. That is so tragic. It will be lovely for them to receive the quilt once all the business of funeral preparations and the first initial shock of grief has passed. When they suddenly realize he is really gone, here will come your quilt in the post to give them comfort. Blessings, Nita

  3. Nicole says:

    So sorry to hear about your uncle’s passing. Wishing you comfort during this time.

  4. Kirsten says:

    So many lovely projects! Sorry to hear about your Uncle – the quilt will be of great comfort to his family.

  5. Dearest Jo, I am so sorry to hear that your Uncle has passed away. My thoughts are with you all. Lots of love at this very sad time. xxxx

  6. Mary Emmens says:

    Awesome blocks Jo and the quilt I’m sure will be some comfort to your Uncles family – sorry to read of your loss

  7. Carol says:

    So sorry to hear about your Uncle , Jo . The quilt is lovely and I’m sure you’ll finish it soonxx

  8. Joanne says:

    Beautiful makes!
    Thinking of you, after the lost of your Uncle, I’m sure all the love that has gone into the quilt will bring them some comfort!

  9. Kelly says:

    I am so sorry for your loss Jo. I think your family will cherish the quilt when you send it. x

  10. Indianna says:

    Hope the quilt is a little bit of comfort for your family at this sad time.. Looks like you have achieved a lot also this month.

  11. Melissa says:

    I’m so sorry for your family’s loss. I am sure the quilt will bring them much comfort.

Leave a Reply

