Finally a finish

Well here is my Kinky Bee quilt – finally finished! I actually finished this a couple of weeks ago, but being away on my hols and other things meant I haven’t shown anyone yet!

Image

 

Image

This quilt was made for my aunt and her family after her husband’s diagnosis and subsequent death from cancer. The lovely ladies from the Fat Quarterly Retreat Bee made the blocks back in Nov/Dec 2012. I had pieced the top before, but I unpicked several sections and put them back together again and it looks much better for it. So my sincere thanks to the following people for their help, support and generosity in helping to get this one made, Liz, Moira, Carol, Charlotte, Teresa, Mary, Kate, SueSue B and Kelly. My aunt and three of my cousins will be over for a visit in August, so I will be able to give it to them then.

I have lots of lovely exciting things happening in the world of sewing, some beautiful bee blocks have been arriving daily from various bees – all my months seemed to come at once, but I will write about those later on during the week. For now, my thoughts are with my family in Ireland. I woke up on Saturday morning to find out (via Facebook) that my cousin, Dougie, had lost his 33 year fight with Cystic Fibrosis. It is his funeral today (they always have really quick funerals) and although I can’t be there in person, I will be in spirit.

When Dougie was born, I remember that the doctors believed that he would live until his early teens. Somehow, this stretched out until his 20s and 30s. I was almost starting to believe that with advances in medical care, that he would live for years more. The reality was is that he spent most of the last two years in hospital with only a few visits home.

It doesn’t matter if you know that something will happen, but when it does it is still a shock. He was such a character with an acerbic wit, naughty but so lovely with it. 

Image

 

RIP Dougie – we will all miss you so much XXXX

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Finally a finish

  1. moira says:

    your aunt’s quilt is exquisite.

    so sorry to hear about your cousin, jojo. big hugs from up here x

  2. Liz DandeliondD says:

    So sorry to hear the sad news about your cousin. Thinking of you at this sad time.

    The quilt for your Aunt is fabulous – well done darl.
    xxxx

  3. Carol says:

    So sorry to hear about your cousin. It’s a shitty disorder to have and sad that medical science hasn’t yet found a cure. Thinking of you and your family.
    Your aunt’s quilt is so lovely, you’ve made a fab job of it!

    • Thanks Carol and thank you for all your help with it 🙂 Yes it is a shitty disease. At least you can be screened for it now. My aunt really wanted more kids at the time, but couldn’t risk having any in case they had CF, which is sad too. I really need to do something to cheer myself up today! xxx

Leave a Reply

