It’s gone all wonky

My Siblings Together quilt has gone all wonky…

See?

Image

Despite my best efforts of taking a whole evening to baste the darn thing *sigh*…. I’m ploughing on regardless though as I cannot face that much unpicking. I’ve never quilted a quilt in this manner before and I have learnt a few lessons.

Question is, does it look really awful??? I still like it, but my eyes are always drawn to the bits that have gone wonky.

Anyway, in other news I shall be returning to the world of normal working people in September on a part-time basis. I shall be working for my husband’s company doing various bits of admin grimble to start off with as Dan starts pre-school three mornings a week. I think Rich forgets I have done nothing but wipes floors and bums for two and a half years, might need to get my brain in check! Still, I would sell my soul to the devil for a bit of extra cash right now. And who knows, maybe I can get my big quilts quilted by someone else next time or a nice new, shiny sewing machine like Kelly’sΒ which makes the process much easier (I can dream on….).

Linking up to Freshly Pieced!

WIP Wednesday at Freshly Pieced

Happy Wednesday everyone πŸ™‚

XXXXXX

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to It’s gone all wonky

  1. Mary says:

    Consider the wonkiness a feature. I think it looks fine. Did you do straight line quilting? I find decreasing the foot pressure, if your machine has that function, can help keep things even.

    • Joanne Jones says:

      Yes, it’s all straight lines, just a bummer that it has distorted some of the blocks and I’m not sure how I will square it up now – eek! My machine is pretty basic, so I don’t have a foot pressure control. I always run into problems quilting! Thanks for the advice though πŸ™‚

  2. moira says:

    I think it looks fab. There is something in my mind about changing direction or not when straight line quilting – I’ll do some digging

    • Joanne Jones says:

      Yes, I should have changed direction! It wasn’t a problem until I got to the middle section – should have started in the middle really. Oh well….lessons learnt! XXX

  3. Sonia says:

    I think it looks really nice as is and the wave adds a great contrast to all the straight edges πŸ™‚ Very brave of you to do such dense quilting! And i too dream of a new machine like Kelly’s…..

  4. Vicki says:

    Personally, I love it! I think that once you get the binding on and wash it, it will look wonderful. I think that we as quilters see our work differently then others see it! Use it and be extremely proud of this work of art!!! Here from WIP!

    • Ah, thank you Vicki πŸ™‚ It’s good to have a positive view and we all get a bit bogged down in the things that go wrong sometimes. I’m sure the recipient won’t care a bit (or at least I hope not). Thanks for stopping by my little blog πŸ™‚

  5. Lea says:

    Your wonky quilt is fabulous.. I looked at the picture before I read everything that you wrote and I thought you did it intentionally. It’s a great look.

  6. Carol says:

    The quilt is lovely and a bit of wonkiness doesn’t matter. Have you got a walking foot? If you sew from top to bottom then on the next row bottom to top and so on, then the fabric shifting sort of evens out. Great news about the part-time work and I’m sure you will be fine once you get going. I’m sure the thought of a new sewing machine will spur you on!

  7. hannah says:

    Jo it looks fab! A quilt is very forgiving and it will look awesome when it’s all finished and washed.

  8. This is AWESOME. I don’t think it looks bad at all. Can’t wait to see it finished!

Leave a Reply

