When Bees Go Bad…

Image

Image from http://chriscander.com

So, the Quilt Around The World 2 Bee has, or is about to, go bad (in my opinion). Not for me, I hasten to add, my blocks have travelled nearly all the way around the planet earth and are currently residing with the lovely Moira in Nottingham πŸ™‚ In safe hands.

However, three members of the bee have their blocks stuck somewhere in the US, with one person. Unfortunately, most of these blocks are very unique and were obviously pretty time consuming to complete. Many people have tried to get in touch with the person who has them all with absolutely no success. Not an email reply or blocks sent on. Zilcho responso… for months. I should add that all we do know is this person is alive and well.

So, what do you do? It seems like some members are planning to mass mail her postcards requesting the blocks to be sent on in no uncertain terms, but I’m not up for joining in. It feels a bit like bullying somehow and it doesn’t sit easily with me. I would far rather use my time to make angel blocks to cover those that are missing.

I genuinely feel gutted about this as it seems like a bad turn just as we are nearing the end of a (mostly) very successful bee. Also, because the lady who is AWOL is brilliant and does make the most amazing stuff and I fear that she may never see the blocks that everyone has made for her now.

Has this happened to you? What did you do? Did you ever see your work again? Any good ideas to try?

Hope everyone is well today!

Jo xx

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to When Bees Go Bad…

  1. Lea says:

    I wish I had a suggestion for you. It doesn’t make sense that a quilter would do this knowing how much goes into these blocks. Maybe there is more to it than meets the eye? I don’t know but I do hope the blocks are sent on to where they belong. I wish all of you the best with this. I love that you are making angel blocks to cover the missing blocks.

  2. jan says:

    If this is someone that is still ‘active’ but ignoring requests to send blocks and super talented in what they make there must be something else going on. It’s very frustrating thought. One of the first swaps I did on flickr was for fabric. I sent mine off and never heard anything. Eventually I emailed the person and she said yes she’d received mine – thanks and she apologised for not letting me know it had arrive and that she’d forgotten to post the fabric she was swapping with me but she’d do it straight away. It never turned up. Everyone sent stuff in the two bee’s I was in although some people were consistently late but they did have ‘life’ issues and I knew they would send as soon as they could.

    • What a shame you didn’t get your fabric! I suppose that’s the deal we make, it’s all on trust. I have a couple of missing blocks out there too, but it’s only happened with the 3×6 Bee which is only 3 months long and you work with your own fabrics.

      This lady hasn’t been active on Flickr for many months and has been absent from other swaps too, so I think there is more to it than meets the eye. I have spoken to her mother and she said they are having work done on the house and she has nowhere to sew. To be fair to other members, nearly everyone has had issues to deal with, there have been several family deaths and other life events but mostly everyone has caught up and moved the blocks along and I know this is why they are frustrated.

      Oh well, we’ll have to see what happens!

  3. Oh man! that sucks.
    I think you are brave/right/lovely not to join in with the stampede.
    I have been admiring the amazing creations in this bee and it’s so sad that its gone South.
    Hope she does get in touch and let you all know what is going on – there must be a reason.

    • Joanne Jones says:

      Me too! I don’t hold out much hope though. I just want to do something positive and I think if it was me, a load of postcards demanding blocks wouldn’t make me send them if polite requests didn’t work. Hope all the Dandelions are doing well XXXX

  4. Carol says:

    This has happened to me. Four members of one of the bees I’m in haven’t sent my blocks back ( my month was March ). One of them even asked for another load of fabric, saying that the first package hadn’t arrived! To be fair, they all have various problems at home ( though as you say who hasn’t!). I’m not going to harass them, I’m just clocking it up to experience. From now on, I’m only going to continue with Bees where I ‘know’ the participants. I don’t think sending postcards would work, although there aren’t many reasons ( except being in intensive care! ) that would stop her from sending an email reply.
    Hope it resolves soon.

    • Joanne Jones says:

      Blimey! So what happened after your month? Did they receive the next few month’s worth of fabric or did you skip them? The QATW now has two members that we skip plus our AWOL person out of 25. At least the people that we skip aren’t sitting on anything. It’s such a shame as the blocks missing are the Parisian ones, most of which are real one offs that a lot of thought were put into and the interlocking blocks, which are mostly paper-pieced – eek!
      Are you feeling better now?

  5. Oh how upsetting 😦 That is the hard part with Bees sometimes isn’t it! Hope it doesn’t sour your experience for future bees!!

  6. moira says:

    it is really sad but I was very uncomfortable with the postcard idea too. At least someone has managed to speak directly to her now so fingers crossed that the blocks get moved on.

  7. Flying Blind says:

    I’m afraid I think there is no excuse for her behaviour – none whatsoever – it takes one minute to email someone in the bee to say she’s is having a problem, wants to leave or whatever. There is no excuse for rudeness or spoiling things for other people, NONE!!!

    I have been in the best bees in the world (yeah sorry for rubbing it in!), and we have had births, deaths and marriages and still got all the blocks done in the end, with no-one wondering wtf was going on.

    I hope she is reading, suitable embarrassed and just sends them all on for others to pick up her slack.

    Lord help anyone in a bee with me who behaved like that – I would name and shame for sure!

    • Flying Blind says:

      Ha ha ha – people indeed! As clique-y as it sounds, I don’t think I would ever be in a bee with strangers now; I want to have application foms, 3 references and a security deposit πŸ˜‰

  8. Tj says:

    You would name and shame? Wow. Take this advice..β€œBe Kind for Everyone You Meet is Fighting a Great Battle.”–Plato
    It’s fabric for crying out loud.

    • Hi TJ

      I wouldn’t name and shame, because I agree, it is only fabric. Wasn’t sure if you meant that comment for me for the previous commentator.

      Thanks for following my little blog. Jo

  9. mammafairy says:

    I am certainly with you on the postcards thing- I was not at all happy about that idea, and I feel there is a lot more too it than meets the eye. I just wish she had been brave enough to explain a little. And, sadly, it seems she never did catch up or send on after all. I am also very happy to make angel blocks as required. at least those of us left in this country, who are still ongoing seem to be of one mind in it.
    And, I would happily share another bee with you and Moira!

  10. Svea says:

    wow Jo, just catching up with this. that sucks. it’s tricky to say you would only ever sew with others you know though…leaving out all the new quilters… when we met on the 3×6 bee, that was only my second bee. i am now in 3 (as the 3×6 is finished, yes only runs for 3 months) and while sometimes i am running late (baby, pre-christmas gift making getting in the way), i am conscientious to fulfill my commitments. it is a shame others are not. i do agree communiction is vital though so others know if you are running late and why.

    but yes, chalk it up to experience i suppose. have fun in NYC!

    • Joanne Jones says:

      Hi Svea! Nice to hear from you πŸ™‚ I don’t think I said I would only do a bee with people I knew from now on, I think that was a previous commentator, but I understand what she meant but I wouldn’t take it that far because, like you say, there always needs to be room for new starters, just like I was once.

      I have just thrown myself headlong into another round the world bee as I do have real faith in people and everyone has pressures from other areas in their lives to deal with but they just need to tell someone.

      As it turns out that the lady sent the blocks back to their owners this week which is so nice for them to know it has been a wasted year and half!

      Hope you are all well XXX

Leave a Reply

