Brit Thursday Friday Linky

I know, I’m late! Just a quick post to have a quick catch up!

I am a very lucky girl and I am off to New York next week for a long weekend with the husband who is there with work. I have already pre-ordered my fabric to be sent to Rich’s office πŸ™‚

There are these beauties….

Image

And these 9 lovelies πŸ™‚

Image

I bought them all from Stash Fabrics on Etsy. The Alison Glass bundle had 15% off and free shipping. So, that’s 20 FQs for about Β£30 (one of the prints I ordered was white on white text so haven’t added a pic). It became rapidly apparent this week whilst trying to do my Mo-Stash bee blocks that I have tiny amounts of orange and yellow fabric and had almost run out of aqua in any usable size, so of course this had to be rectified! I had to stop short of pre-ordering Catnap by Lizzy House from there too.

Carol has been a true fabric enabler and told me about the City Quilter in NY. Turns out that it’s an eight minute walk from where we will be – good god….

I have been busy sewing many bee blocks. Here’s a little mosaic of the October & November ones.

Image

As I mentioned, the Quilt Around The world has nearly finished. Moira made me a beautiful block and I’m so chuffed with how the quilt is looking. My only real direction to the group was to use all blue fabric to make a 12.5″ finished block. I think it’s like looking into little pools and it reminds me of summer. I can’t wait to get it back and get cracking putting it together. I have a shed load of Dear Stella Confetti dots in navy for the backing and I was considering using it for sashing too, but that may not work. If not, plain navy is on hand!

Here’s Moira’s picture of all the blocks so far:

Image

Picture from Moira’s Flickr Stream

And after the calamity of QATW ending with blocks still missing and on the other side of the world, etc, there was a few mentions of doing another round, which I had mentally decided not to do. Still, when Joan, one of the members of QATW, asked me to do a smaller, invited version (12 people), I was just too tempted! Also, everyone that I know who has joined from QATW make the most beautiful blocks, so I have every confidence that this group will work really well. My starter block for ‘Friends With Additions’ is below:Image

The brief is add whatever you like (excluding dresden plates and hexagons) but only in solid fabrics. So, we shall see! I posted this and some extra fabric to Moira this morning. It’s all very exciting!

I am in receipt of Jen’s block from Canada (see below).

Image

I’m not sure how to progress with this one. I made a 4.5″ paper-pieced raspberry with a text background this week, but it looked rubbish, so that idea went out of the window. I have until the end of the month though, so that’s plenty of time (she says)….

Anyway people, I think I have downloaded all my stored up info now!

Happy Friday and weekend to all πŸ™‚

Jo xxx

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Brit Thursday Friday Linky

  1. Carol says:

    Great fabrics from Stash fabrics Jo. I hope you are taking an empty suitcase as City quilter is so close to where you are staying! All your blocks are brilliant and I love your True Blue blocks. Where are you going to put it?

    • Oooh, I will be keeping this one for me πŸ™‚ I said that at the outset and it will be keeping me warm on the sofa this Christmas! I’m not as scared as I was of quilting big quilts after the ST one, so bring it on! I don’t have any quilts in the house (that I’m keeping) so it’s about time we had one!

      I hope you’re going to take an extra suitcase with you too – all those fabric shops in the US….Have you googled them yet??? XX

  2. Joanne says:

    Your blue blocks look stunning!
    And I love your starter block, those solids are lovely!

Leave a Reply

