Whoosh!…

Where did April go? Past me in whoosh, a bit like March πŸ™‚

I always thought I was a bit of a completer finisher, but it seems I have several projects on the go, or to be finished. So, instead of starting the new baby quilt, I have decided to get everything else done first.

This is what I am working on at the moment. It’s a quilt for my niece, Callie, who should have had this at the end of February for her 7th birthday! The blocks are all from a Flickr swap group called 3×6. It’s a mini bee of three months in groups of six people. You make a block of your choice in their colours and they do the same for you. This is about a year’s worth of blocks which I have added to as well.Β I decided to give Alison’s method of QAYG a bash for this one and after a false start, it’s now going pretty well – almost finished in fact πŸ™‚

Image 39

It has been a joyous thing to not have to shove a quilt through my machine at home, so I would definitely recommend this way of constructing a quilt. I decided to stitch in the ditch to secure the strips to the reverse of the quilt, which is a bit time consuming and I have had to tack the rows in place before I sew them, but that’s okay.

So, I still have to finish my blue quilt, my Soy Amado quilt (when all the blocks are back) and I have a gorgeous wonky cross set of bee blocks that I LOVE that need some careful construction, but I’m looking forward to that one πŸ™‚

I will leave you with this lady. I’m not a massive poetry fan, but Hollie McNish rocks. I fist heard a poem of hers called ‘Embarrased’ on Facebook about a year ago which is all about breastfeeding in public and I thought of it again this week after Sports Direct made a breastfeeding mother leave the shop while she was waiting for her husband to try on some clothes. Anyway, I discovered this poem of hers a couple of days ago called ‘Megatron (Transformers)’ and this is for all you mothers out there πŸ™‚

Linking up to Sue’s Brit Sewing Linky & Lily’s Quilts…

Just Sew Sue
Lily's Quilts

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Whoosh!…

  1. Mrs Flying Blind says:

    The quilt is looking mighty pretty xxx

  2. That quilt is going to be stunning when it’s finished – can’t wait to see it!

  3. Sue B says:

    Looking gorgeous. Thanks for linking up.

  4. Hannlib says:

    This looks fab. I keep meaning to have a go at that kind of QAYG. Well if I ever finish all my skill builder blocks ….

    • Thanks Hannah! I have nearly finished sewing the binding on. It feels like I have cheated somehow πŸ˜‰ It’s a very easy way to put a quilt together, especially when you have lots of different styles of blocks.

  5. Carol says:

    The quilt is fab ( wouldn’t expect any less from you ) but I really enjoyed the spoken word, it adequately conveys the joys ??!! of motherhood.

  6. Sonia says:

    Loved this poetry vid – especially made me laugh as my boys are *totally* into Transformers (we even have the original 1980’s Movie!)

  7. moira says:

    beautiful work as always x

Leave a Reply

