One of these blocks is doing it’s own thing…

I have had a speedy finish for my Siblings Together quilt with lovely Rocky Mountain Puzzle blocks donated by the ST Quilt Bee that has now started it’s second year…

The Siblings Together charity promotes positive contact between brothers and sisters separated by foster care, kinship care, residential care or adoption. Some siblings may even be living with parents.

So, anyway, I requested that each member created four blocks using any fabric they chose but with a light/neutral background, nothing was off limits and no ideas which sex this quilt would end up being for. Fiona was on her holidays, lucky lady, so I made a few extras, but somehow couldn’t resist making just one with a dark background 🙂

Image 17

There was such a lovely mix of fabrics that everyone used and this quilt has come together really well, in fact much better than I could have hoped for.

So here’s a few pics now I have someone here today to be my quilt holder-upper!

Image 52

Image 53

Image 50

Image 54

The backing, border and binding are all made from a French kingsize sheet and pillowcase set I bought in a charity shop a couple of months ago. Very girly and swirly and light 🙂 Remind me not to decide to add borders onto a quilt again, unless absolutely necessary. The outside border went really baggy because (as I now know) that I didn’t measure them correctly….

Thanks go to all the members of the STQB for making such awesome blocks for me and I hope this quilt will make some little girl happy. I like that it turned into a girly quilt through the collaboration of twelve quilty minds 🙂

If you would like to donate a quilt or get involved with the ST quilt drive please visit the flickr group. For more information about the quilt drive in general please see here.

I’m linking up with Moira who is hosting the ‘Slow Blogger’ Group this month…

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to One of these blocks is doing it’s own thing…

  1. Fabulous quilt. Love the block design and everyone’s choices of fabric go together so well!

  2. moira says:

    OMG it’s flipping gorgeous. I want one!

  3. Mrs Flying Blind says:

    Well done ladies, it’s a beauty!

  4. Maria says:

    It’s amazing how cohesive all the blocks look. Well done, it’s fab. So quick too.

  5. Svea says:

    Wow, really lovely quilt. Another speedy finish. To my shame I haven’t managed to finish my STB2 Quilt – but I am bringing one I started last year and finished a few weeks ago. See you there 🙂

  6. Carol says:

    It looks fab Jo, you’ve worked your usual magic! Hope to see you Saturday

  7. Teresa says:

    Lovely..Great idea to have the background bringing it all together. That sheet backing is genius… Wish I was there this weekend…. Enjoy your ‘drop in’..

  8. pennydog says:

    That backing find is absolutely perfect, I am actually quite jealous. Great finish too!

    • Thanks Penny. I always check the charity shops but mostly come up empty handed! This was like finding a piece of treasure. I have some left if you would like it, probably not enough to back a quilt, but certainly a cushion or a mini 🙂

  9. nicolette says:

    I love everything about this quilt! It’s happy and colourful!

  10. Mary says:

    It’s brilliant Jo, love the ‘odd’ block, well done for getting it finished so quick too.

  11. hannlib says:

    I love this! The odd block just makes it

  12. Very cute. It makes sense that it was a sly fox who snuck a dark background onto the quilt. That king sized sheet was a great find.

  13. Catherine says:

    It’s a lovely quilt – looking for the little images in the blocks is going to make the owner very happy.

  14. jane says:

    It looks great. I love the idea of using a duvet cover for the backing.

  15. Great finish Jo, I think your blocks look better than any of mine would too 🙂

Leave a Reply

