The End of Summer

This time of year always makes me feel sad for the summer that’s just gone. It’s that old back to school with a jumper that’s too big for you feeling, when you could see your breath at the bus stop in the morning….

Even though I dislike this time of year, I’m finding myself wanting things to get back to normal. The summer has flown by so fast, yet I’m hankering after some proper sewing time and Dan is so ready to go back to preschool.

So, I didn’t get the job 😦 They sent me an email on Monday to say thank you, but no thank you! The hours I could work were not quite what they had in mind and although they were very complimentary, they think I’m a year too early to go back to work while I’m restricted by Dan’s preschool hours (9:15am – 2:45pm is pretty restrictive to be fair).

Still, we are off to Wales today for the last throws of summer with some lovely friends. I can’t wait 🙂

Nothing else to report from here, except I saw The Grand Budapest Hotel film last week and loved it! Check out the trailer….

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to The End of Summer

  1. Carol says:

    So sorry you didn’t get the job :0( Enjoy your Welsh holiday- you might even get some good weather, if the forecasts are correct.

  2. Mary says:

    Ah bad luck on the job, having worked in HR I can’t believe they say that you’re a year to early! Sadly school hours are almost as restrictive as preschool ones! We are off to Wales on Monday for a week and our friend who works at the Met office tells us the weather will be great…fingers crossed we both have a great week. xx

  3. hannlib says:

    Sorry to read that Jo 😦 I hope the application and interview process has given you some confidence. And yes great forecast for next week so have a lovely time!

  4. Shame about the job but at least you have jumped back into the water and survived the Interview Process! I always feel exactly like you at this time of year, sad and disappointed summer is ending. However I was a Primary School teacher (retired 17 years ago!) and I think this sense of summer ending goes back to the thought of starting all over again with a new class. Funnily enough I actually like the season of Autumn, the colours, the light, berries and leaf colours. Aren’t we odd?

  5. Moira Petrie says:

    Pah, they are the losers! Enjoy your hols and a big hug from up here xx

  6. They definitely missed out there Jo! Hope the weather predictions are true for your trip but I am sure that you will have a great time anyway.

  7. mammafairy says:

    Sorry you didn’t get that job… There will be a better one round the corner for you!

  8. jane says:

    Well I always believe if you don’t get the job there is a better one round the corner! Love Wales you will have a fantastic break. I feel in limbo too, at other end of child timescale my youngest is off to Uni at the end of September and I am looking forward to some meeee sewing time and a tidy house!

Leave a Reply

