A Late Around The World Blog Hop

Two weeks ago the lovely Lysa Mair asked me if I would participate in the Around The World Blog Hop which is still going around the world! I agreed thinking it would give me a good excuse to write a blog post. Then everything in my house broke (plumbing diasters at every turn, I shan’t bore you with it all). So I am sorry for being late Lysa, but here it is nonetheless….

What are you currently working on?

Nothing. A very simple answer. I appear to have temporarily lost my sewing mojo that is usually quite consistent while I have been attending to all the house stuff. I have made my bee blocks for this month and that is it.

I was working on this quilt for a new baby girl that our friends’ were expecting in September. They have been living in San Francisco for two years and we knew they were planning on moving back to the UK, but I didn’t know they were expecting a baby.

Fresh Pack Quilt. Free pattern available on Craftsy.

Fresh Pack Quilt. Free pattern available on Craftsy.

Sadly they lost their daughter during delivery. Heartbreaking for them. I just can’t imagine how awful a time they must have had. Consequently, I had no heart for continuing with this quilt. I think eventually I will finish it and put it away until it’s needed again.

How does my work differ from others?

I’m not sure it does! I am very random with what I choose to make and I definitely feel like I am still learning to sew and quilt. I love being in a bees as they often take me out of my comfort zone so I am forced to try new techniques or use colours that I wouldn’t ordinarily choose.

Why do you create what you do?

Because I am a naturally creative type! It doesn’t matter what it is that I am making, but I have to make something or I get a bit restless! It could be a cake, new recipe or a quilt block, but it is something that appears to be hard-wired into me and always has been.

As far as quilt making is concerned, I stumbled upon it when I met a lovely friend through NCT whose mum had made her son some amazing quilts and it reignited my love of fabric design. (I studied surface pattern design at uni, but have never worked in the industry. I was so skint after uni that I had to get a ‘proper’ job that actually paid some money.) My goal is to design fabric properly, commercially, but right now I’m concentrating on the small wins that sewing/quilting gives me and enjoying the lovely people that I have met through it.

How does your creative process work?

Hmmmm, normally it’s ‘can I make that?’ I don’t follow patterns terribly well. I am a very visual learner and normally I just try a few things and see if they look good. I never plan quilts on paper or choose all my fabrics before I start. It’s always a bit of a moving feast and not the most efficient way to make quilts, but that’s fine with me!

I will now pass the baton on to Sue, who has lots more sewing experience than me and is much more organised!!

I shall leave you with a clip from Bridesmaids. I would love to lose it like this one day and frankly have felt like this many times over the last two weeks, but to be fair, all of it was directed at my stupidly over-engineered Italian toilet, broken washing machine and central heating system. Enjoy!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to A Late Around The World Blog Hop

  1. Moira Petrie says:

    well, I’m happy to blow your trumpet as it were! you are one of my creative inspirations. I love how you pair colours, your attention to detail and the “clean” work you produce. The quilt you were making for your friend is an excellent example – just gorgeous. You make me want to do better and that’s a good thing.

    You’ve probably got this sorted but I have a crush on my ecobubble washing machine – it sings to me!

  2. Tell me more… Who makes it, it sounds amazing. I can’t believe I am excited by a new washing machine! Mine is hanging on by the skin of it’s teeth 😉

    Thank you for your lovely comments, Moira. Big hugs to you XXXXXXX

  3. Mary says:

    Fascinating reading, I never knew you studied surface pattern design but you obviously have a lot of great talent. So sorry to hear of your friends loss, I’m not surprised you have neglected the quilt. I hope your domestic appliance woes are sorted soon – we bought an ISE washing machine a couple of years ago, guaranteed for 10 years, expensive but worth it in our opinion!

  4. Hope your appliances start behaving soon and that you get your sewing mojo back too. The baby quilt is beautiful but I can definitely understand why you are loath to complete it.
    Your work is always stunning and a great advert for “trying a few things and seeing if they look good”!

Leave a Reply

