Siblings Together & Scraps

Slapped wrist, I haven’t written a blog post since November – eek!

I have had a week or two of concentrating on my scraps. I decided to declare war on them after doing a scrap swap with the lovely Lysa Mair. I thought I would significantly reduce them by sending them to Canada, but no! I was still left with all the really teeny tiny pieces of fabric that I cannot bear to part with. Also, Mary Emmens had made this lovely quilt for Siblings Together with her scraps, so I thought I should do the same and then they really would be gone! For now 🙂

Richard has been doing a fair bit of travelling over the last three weeks, so I have had the most of the days and evenings to myself which means I have got quite a lot done.

All basted...

All basted…

The block pattern is from Sewing by Moonlight. Personally I am not fond of paper templates, but I found that by using a little 505 spray on them it was easier to trim the quadrants down to size. You only need one triangle and one ‘kite’ for the middles. I literally sewed these together with no regard for pattern or colour and I really enjoyed the process. Suffice to say, I am not enjoying the quilting process – even on my new machine, but that’s nothing new for me!

So moving on, we had new February ST blocks to make for the bee for Maria. Our choice of blocks to be 10.5″ square in specific colours. Here’s my contribution:-

Image 20  Image 21

Pippa asked for some angel blocks for the Euro Siblings Together bee on IG, so I have been busy making these blocks as well for Cecilie in Denmark. These also finish at 10.5″ and are super easy to make. The only request was for all blue fabric.

Image 22

And then finally, Mary, Jo & Susy are doing another block drive to make more Siblings Together quilts in time for this summer’s camps. Last year they had over 200 blocks donated and made three gorgeous quilts for teenage boys. Below is a pic of Mary’s finished quilt.

From Mary's Flickr stream

From Mary’s Flickr stream

This year they have requested these Home Sweet Home blocks in blues, greens, greys and blacks. Again, really easy to make from sliced up 9 patches made from 5″ charm squares and I love the secondary pattern they create:-

Image 23

So if you are reading this and you sew, please consider making some blocks like these to send to the girls and they will do the rest. Please see Mary’s guest post here on Lynne’s blog from yesterday for all the details and more information about the charity. Maybe you have some backing fabric, binding or wadding that you could donate to them to help finish the quilts. Or maybe even a quilt that you could donate to the charity? Follow this link to the Flickr Siblings Together Group to see all the quilts that have been made so far 🙂

Linking up to Leanne & Nicky’s Scraptastic Tuesday (even though it’s Sunday)!

Scraptastic Tuesday
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Siblings Together & Scraps

  1. Carol says:

    Lots of lovely sewing there Jo! The scrappy spiderweb is a winner all round ;0

  2. maria says:

    You always make such lovely bee blocks.
    Have fun with the quilting!

  3. Mary says:

    I love that scrappy quilt it looks so good even without regard for fabric placement! Thanks for the shout out. xx

  4. Looking good, and doing good!

  5. Lysa says:

    Holy smokes you’ve been busy! It all looks so great, as usual! Hey, if you need to get rid of anymore scraps, I can help you out with that!

  6. Your Bee blocks are lovely Jo, as always and I love your scrappy spiderweb quilt. Hope you enjoy the quilting once you get in to it 🙂

  7. Nicky says:

    Richard needs to do more travelling! Not really but wow great scrappy quilt – I know those take quite a while to do! Great shout out for Siblings Together let’s hope we make that 100 target! Thanks for joining us at #scraptastictuesday and BTW it is always scraptastictuesday even on Sunday!

    • Thanks Nicky, I’m always a bit late 🙂 I want to get this quilt finished now so I can start another one for ST. The next one will probably be a good deal simpler though! I reckon we can do 100!

  8. Ann says:

    Lovely spiderweb quilt. It’s charming on the grey. And the other blocks and tops are wonderful, too. What fun to see so many!

  9. Indianna says:

    Looks like you’ve been too busy sewing to blog! Though IG is much easier. Love the spiders web quilt x

  10. nicolette says:

    You have such a great eye for fabrics and fabric combo’s!! Love your scrap quilt!

Leave a Reply

